On Your Hands and Knees!

Sunday April 11, 2010

Week 12

Hello friends!  How was your closet organizing this week?  I am going to be honest, I am not quite done.  This past week I was completing a teaching assignment and just had a lot going on.  While I am not done, I am not stopping by any means.  Unfortunately I have gotten sick and am down for the count….fever, chills…yuck!  I am hoping to get everything taken care of this week.  I will also get this week’s assignment done as well.

Ladies and gentlemen, we are going to get down and dirty this week…..CLEANING!  I have to be honest, we have wood floors on the main level of our house and I know that wood floors are highly coveted, but I think they are quite overrated.  I can never seem to keep them clean.  In addition to that, I feel that our base  boards around the floors can never stay clean enough either….maybe it has something to do with them being white.

I also think a lot of the residual mess has to do with the fact that Jeremy had rented out our place for 3 years before we moved in.  Sadly, renters don’t normally think to clean the base boards.  This week my friends, we are going to pay attention to our often neglected base boards in the house!  First, take your vacuum your base boards.  Next, you will have to get down on your hands and knees!! Take a wet wipe to wipe down any loose dirt, dust, and grime that the vacuum did not pick up.  If you have any trouble spots that need tougher cleaning, I SWEAR BY the power of the Mr. Clean Magic Eraser.  A quick word of warning is that it is made of a stripping material so please be careful when using it on colored/painted surfaces, etc.  Being that our cabinets and  base boards are white, we have no problems using the Magic Eraser.

Having clean  base boards really brightens up your floors!  After you have thoroughly cleaned your base boards, remember to vacuum them when you vacuum your floor to maintain their cleanliness.

By the end of the week, I will have posted closet pictures.  Now it is time for fluids, Advil, and rest!  Happy Sunday my friends.  Remember to take some time for yourself tonight! 

xoxo

d

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “On Your Hands and Knees!

  1. I love the Magic Eraser! I clean my bathroom baseboards every week!

  2. Kelly

    FYI, we have BLACK…yes BLACK wainscotting (sp) and baseboards. For inbetween cleanups I use the swiffer duster! It is great to keep those baseboards clean so you aren’t on your hands and knees every week! Thanks for all the tips Dani! I love the Magic Eraser too, but like you said have to becareful when it comes to painted surfaces 🙂

Leave a Reply

