Let’s Do This!

Week 10

March 28, 2010

You had a week off courtesy of my honeymoon, but get ready because I am back and ready to get this party started.  First, I must get something off my chest.  When we got home from our fabulous honeymoon, we left a land of calm and tranquility to return to our disaster of a home.  My goal was to have the house all cleaned and organized before we left for our honeymoon and needless to say, I slipped and it was a mess.  One thing I keep reminding you all of is to take one project at a time so things do not seem to be overwhelming…..wlle I was WAY overwhelmed by our mess this weekend.  I actually avoided everything yesterday, but I woke up early this morning with the mess on my mind.  I decided to follow my own advice and just focus on one thing at a time.  I tidied up the kitchen first, cleaned the basement, then began to tackle our living room.  I vaccumed all the furniture, floors, dusted, broke down boxes, and loaded up the car with boxes of items to donate.  I still have a lot to accomplish this week, but I have to tell you that I feel so much better than I did this morning!

Now that I have gotten that off my chest, let’s get down to business!  This week is an OM week.  We are going to work on taking care of ourselves.  To accomplish this task, we are going to turn it ALL off 30 minutes before bedtime.  To achieve this decompression time, I want you to turn off the tv, your cell phone, your computer, anything technologically stimulating 30 minutes before bedtime.  That means NO email, NO facebook, No blogs, No crime tv shows (this one really pertains to me because I am notorious for watching these shows right before I go to sleep and then I have nightmare).  Turning it all off will allow for our minds to quiet down and get our bodies ready for a peaceful transition to sleep.  During this time do something that is relaxing for you, read a book, do the crossword puzzle, write in a journal, meditate, get things ready for the next day, etc.  It is a time to turn off all that stimulates our minds and get ready to relax for the night!  Enjoy this week of relaxation because Spring Cleaning begins next Sunday!! 

xoxo

d

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Let’s Do This!

  1. So last night, before we went to bed, Mikey wanted to turn on the TV, and I was like, “NO! According to Danielle we need 30 minutes of quiet time!”

    • I love it Meg! I hope you all know I don’t just post these things for fun, I do them as well. Last night I turned off everything 30 mins before bed and needless to say, the new hubby was less than thrilled about it, but was a good sport about it. We always go to bed with the tv on so this is a big adjustment. I have to be honest, I slept so well last night! My mind was quiet and everything was calm and it was fabulous! I actually woke up refreshed and ready to go BEFORE my alarm went off this morning. I hope it worked for you, I am looking forward to trying this out for the second night!

Leave a Reply

