Sunday plus one day!

I must apologize.  I know I said this blog would be updated every Sunday and here it is, Monday, and I am just posting now.  The reason I am delayed is that I had the most fabulous and busy weekend with our first wedding shower and my bachelorette party.  Having the ladies you love (and your brother) in one room makes for a fabulous time with very little sleep 🙂  So I apologize, but I am hoping that you understand.

Now that I have gotten that out of the way, let’s get this party started!  Here we are in week 3 already!  How is everything going for you?  I hope you are finding this helpful and maybe even fun.  I know for me, having things cleaned and organized makes me feel so much better.  I feel calm and clear-headed.  Since you have spent the past couple weeks working on getting things physically organized, I want to take this week to work on organizing our OM.  This blog will rotate with 2 weeks of physical organization followed by a week on inner organization.  Here is your OM assignment for the week:

* Keep a notepad or notebook by your bed:I have always been a very Type A personality and I would spend countless nights awake stressing over upcoming things and what I have on my plate.  My mom used to tell me to leave all my stresses on my nightstand when I went to bed and then I could pick them up in the morning if necessary.  As corny as this sounds, I will still “leave” my stresses on the nightstand before bed so I can get a good night sleep. Another way I am able to turn my mind off for the evening is by keeping a notepad on my nightstand where I can jot down things I need to remember to do the next day and other tasks I need to tackle.  This way I can relax knowing that it is all written down and I won’t forget anything when I wake up in the morning.  Having a restful sleep is so important for keeping your OM in check.

* Meditation/Stretching: If you are anything like me, the thought of sitting quietly and turning your thoughts off is nearly impossible!  But, it is important to try. I have found that the way for me to meditate and clear my head is by stretching.  This can be done at any point in the day and can also be done several times throughout the day.  It is great to stretch in the morning because it gets your blood flowing and helps you get ready to tackle the day ahead!  I often stretch with my students after lunch or if I see that they are losing focus and feeling agitated.  Taking a few moments to stretch and focus on your breathing throughout the day can help reinvigorate you and refocus your mind in order to make it through the home stretch.  My favorite time of day for my big meditation and stretching is at the end of the day as I am getting ready for bed.  Stretching before bed removes the stress and tension that has built up in my body throughout the day and while I am stretching I am able to just focus on breathing and nothing else.  So, as you see, my method of meditation may not be the most traditional, but it is what works for me.  The important thing is to find something that works for you!  Your form of meditation may be flossing your teeth (which  you should be doing everyday anyway!!), or reading a chapter of a book, or sitting quietly.

This week, not only do I want you to continue working on your task list and staying on top of your mail, I want you to focus on your OM.  This time of year can be rough for those of us who live in cold and cloudy climates.  We need to take time to check in with ourselves and make sure we are relaxing and taking care of ourselves.  Happy Monday, have a fabulous week!

xoxo

d

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Sunday plus one day!

  1. I stretch and meditate each day, believe it or not! It’s amazing what 10 minutes can do! Great tips, lady!

Leave a Reply

